Prawn Curry with Fish

Posted: June 26, 2010 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

I tried to make this recipe taste like my mother’s prawn curry.  I think she had perfected it to taste like the curry her family in Aldona made.  Having never cooked with my mother, this task proved quite difficult except for remembering the ingriedients.  Blenders come in handy huh?  Gone are those stones people used in the old days to grind up spices and coconut.  I’ll tell you how I made it because the overall effect was quite delightful and appetizing.

Fish I used:  A bag of thawed frozen tiger shrimp (large), 1 lb of tilapia fish fillets.  I drained the bag of shrimp and put in a bowl.  I cut the fish into largish pieces (they shrink) and threw them in the bowl with the shrimp.  My mother must’ve had a reason for salting the fish before cooking and I decided to follow her example.   Next step, while the fish is salting in the bowl.

In a blender jar, I put in one medium quartered onion, 4 peeled cloves of garlic, 1 1/2 inch piece of peeled ginger, 1 tsp ground cumin, 1 tsp ground corriander, 1/4 tsp cayenne, 1 tsp tumeric, 1 1/2 trsp mild curry powder, 2 diced plum tomatoes, 3/4 cup coconut milk.  In order: chop, grind and then puree the mixture in the blender until a pasty liquid.  Next step:

Heat 2 tblsp vegetable oil in a heavy pot, pour contents of blender slowly (careful not to splash) into the pot.  Stir until oil combines well.  Bring the curry to a boil, turn down and put lid on.   Simmer on low for about 15 minutes.   Add fish and simmer another 5 minutes.  Then, add one tsp of tamarind extract and salt to taste.  This is important: taste the curry before you add more salt.  The salted fish may be enough salt but you may need more depending on your salt tooth.  Put lid on and simmer another 5 minutes.  Garnish with chopped fresh corriander and serve on white basmati rice.   I think Mummy may have been impressed!

[DSCF0415.jpg]

Comments
  1. Parkar says:

    Yum….it looks so delicious.
    I must try your recipe.
    But wait a second….tamarind?
    I thought all konkani people use kokum.
    Or it’s just matter of (un)availibility?
    Last time I was in India, I bought as much kokum as I could fit it my luggage.
    Good thing it has very long shelf life.
    The local grocer out here (sf bay area) stocks kokum but I wouldn’t want to touch that…..eeewwwwwww

    • bardezborn says:

      Both tamarind as well as kokum are used in many Goan dishes but you’re correct in assuming it’s a question of avaialability. I’ve never seen kokum in these parts (B.C. Canada) and the next time I visit India, I’ll make sure and bring some back with me. Yes, unfortunately local grocers do not move food items fast enough before they get stale.

Leave a Reply

